How I Helped Increase Alumni Engagement on Social Media by 275%…in One Month

When I started working at the Harvard Business School (HBS) 2+plus years ago, I had some expectations from day one. I figured I’d being tweeting A LOT, that my commute would be a loooooong one (to date, it takes anywhere from an hour to an hour and thirty minutes to reach my office each day), and that I’d be working with some of the most talented people in the field of alumni communications.

What I didn’t expect, though, was to see my vocabulary expand. Words like “pivot,” “disruption,” and “scale” meant something very different to me before HBS.* But, in time, I not only learned the meanings of these words from a business perspective, but embraced one of them in particular.

Scale.

Scale, in business terms, is defined as “a system that will be able to maintain or even increase its level of performance or efficiency when tested by larger operational demands.” A business that can scale its efforts–by adding more customers, for example–is able to bring in more revenue, hire more staff, and experience significant expansion in other areas.

Read more here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

