Hacking Facebook…or How I Got 40+ Comments to a Single Post

Me and Facebook have a “tortured” history.

Before I came to the Harvard Business School (HBS), I used Facebook sparingly. I would jump onto the platform once every few weeks to see what was happening and to post a photo or two. At the time–early 2010–I didn’t have much use for Mark Zuckerberg’s creation. As a senior writer/communications manager for the Tufts University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS), I was responsible for, among other things, the social media presence of the school. This “presence” included Twitter, LinkedIn, and Flickr. We stayed away from Facebook, though, assuming that graduate students didn’t want us “invading” this space. With no opportunity to use Facebook on a professional level, I didn’t see much reason to use it from a personal one, either.

This all changed when I joined HBS in early 2013 and took over management of the school’s alumni Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/HBSAlumni. The next two years were marked by great successes and epic failures. For every post that performed like this one, there were multiple ones that performed like this. I don’t know why some posts hit the mark while others didn’t. Maybe it had something to do with changes Facebook made to its algorithm or bad post timing on my part. Whatever the reason, I was getting increasingly frustrated with the platform’s unpredictability and in March 2015 I decided to do something about it.

Read more here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

