(Almost) Everything There is to Know About Social Media Strategy

I’ve got bi-polar disorder/My shit’s not in order/I’m overweight/I’m always late/I’ve got too many things to say/I rock mom jeans, cat earrings/Extrapolate my feelings/My family is dysfunctional/But we have a good time killing each other. –Mary Lambert from Secrets

I don’t have a lot in common with Mary Lambert. I can’t sing. I don’t have cool tattoos. I’m usually pretty punctual. And I most definitely cannot rock mom jeans…or any other jeans for that matter.

So why choose lyrics from a Mary Lambert tune as the jumping off point for this blog post? Well, beyond really digging the song Lambert co-wrote, I’m drawn to the universal appeal of lyrics. Lambert–who I first heard singing the hook on “Same Love” by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis–is illustrating how she, like most people, can’t be pigeonholed; she’s a number of different things (from “bi-polar” to “always late”) that, when put together, capture who she is.

Like Lambert, most people defy easy definition. We’re a complex species–for example, I’m a little neurotic, more disorganized than I’d like to be, and have very questionable taste in music (case in point: after parties in college, I would make my housemates play my favorite album of all time, Abba: Gold. For some reason, Swedish super pop from the 1970s didn’t go over well with my school chums).

So, with how unique and multifaceted we are, you’d think social media managers–who are, after all, human beings–would push the boundaries of creativity on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram. This is true in some cases, but I’ve found many social media managers who follow the “status quo”–which, by my definition, is a strategy predicated on broadcast messaging (as opposed to direct engagement) and reactive (as opposed to proactive) engagement. By pursuing this approach, each social media channel can appear one-dimensional and, even worse, indistinguishable from its competitors.

Read more by clicking here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

