Social Media Event Coverage: An Integrated Approach (Part 3)

Twenty.

This is typically how many hours I spend covering an event via social media. This includes, among other things, time conducting research before an event and live-tweeting during one.

Which begs the question: “What do I do after an event is over?”

Answer: “My post-event coverage kicks into high gear.”

This includes posting event photos on Facebook; publishing my Storify (or Storify’s); and encouraging Twitter followers to check out my coverage of said event.

And in this final social media event coverage post, I’ll share some best practices for post-event coverage and how you too can maximize the reach of the content you have gathered.

The First Step

Once an event is over, I’m usually the last person standing–um, sitting–in an empty auditorium as I organize my event Storify. By the time an event has ended,  as I shared in my previous post (see last paragraph), I’ve usually made some progress on my Storify–which means, fortunately, I don’t need to start from scratch. Once I publish this content (an example of one of my Storify’s can be viewed by clicking here), I share it on Twitter and post it on Facebook. In the two paragraphs below, I detail specifically how I share these aggregated tweets.

Twitter: When it comes to Twitter, I go to my tracking sheet (click here for more on tracking sheets) and send direct tweets to alumni who did not attend the event, but have some “connection” to it. Following our one-year reunion, for example, I pulled up my tracking sheet, searched for all “2012” graduates, and tweeted the Storify link to all alumni who graduated in 2012. This helps those who were unable to make it to campus feel “closer” to the event.

(Note: Once a Storify is published, all those mentioned in it receive a tweet letting them know that they have been “quoted.” Depending on the volume of responses embedded in this content, this could lead to a high number of retweets, favorites, and other interactions.)

Facebook: Following an event, our Facebook page becomes the central “hub” where I house all event-related content. This is where I post links to any Storify’s I have created, as well as any photos that I’ve captured during an event. While I do tweet individual photos I take, the majority of my pics are downloaded onto my laptop and saved for future use.

Below are some screen shots of this post-event coverage.

Blog pic3

Image

Once my Storify(s), photos, and any other event-related content is posted, I return to my Twitter event list and tweet out our Facebook link to ALL alumni on my event list. As with the previous example, if the event list is large, I will only send the link to those alumni who have been active on Twitter recently.

Measuring Impact

The final step in my event coverage is gathering all the data I have collected into a report (an example of an event report is below). On a basic level, these reports help illustrate what worked and what didn’t for a specific event. More importantly, these assessments help me compare events on a year-to-year basis so I can see if event engagement is on the rise, holding steady, or (gasp!) decreasing.

Twitter
Clickthroughs

117

Retweets of linked content

7

Retweets of non-linked content

13

Favorited tweets

1

Storify views

792

Responses to questions we posed

67

Total Twitter-Driven Interactions

997

Facebook
Likes

51

Comments

3

Clickthroughs to linked content

178

Shares

2

Total Facebook-Driven Interactions

234

LinkedIn
Clickthroughs

51

Likes

0

Comments

1

Total LinkedIn-Driven Interactions

51

TOTAL SOCIAL MEDIA DRIVEN INTERACTIONS

1,282

(as of 5/21/2013)

Was this post helpful? Is there anything I missed? Please share your thoughts in the comments section.

Robert Bochnak manages social media for the Harvard Business School’s alumni office. He’s also the former writer and editor of GradMatters: The Blog for Tufts GSAS. 

Follow Robert on Twitter at https://twitter.com/RobertBoc.

 

Aside

2 thoughts on “

  1. This is great. I’ve covered many events as a conference reporter, but never followed up with the analytics (which I now see was a mistake). I do hope you add some qualitative data though: I certainly know that one of my unconscious aims for any conference I live tweet is that at least one or two of the people that follow me express a wish to be at the conference (I do shift between industry and academic confs, so when the industry people see that they’d like to attend an academic conference I find it particularly interesting).

  2. Pingback: Social Media Matters

Leave a Reply

